Category: Modern

Sort

showing 1-9 of 9

Image for The University of Rochester Medical Center: Teaching, Discovering, Caring (75 Years of Achievement, 1925-2000)

The University of Rochester Medical Center: Teaching, Discovering, Caring (75 Years of Achievement, 1925-2000)

By: Cohen, Jules; Joynt, Robert J.

Price: $15.00

Publisher: University of Rochester Press: 2000

Seller ID: 2206725


Two gift notes to title page, page ridges very faintly foxed.Near Fine. 2000 Hard Cover. xiv, 339 pp. This commemorative volume tells the story of how a relatively small, university-based medical school over the course of 75 years became a national leader in medical research, health care, and their reform. Black & white photographs.Organized to reflect the three major missions of the University of Rochester Medical Center, this book reviews the distinctive achievements i... View more info

Image for Medical Licensure and Discipline in the United States

Medical Licensure and Discipline in the United States

By: Derbyshire, Robert C.

Price: $15.00

Publisher: The Johns Hopkins Press: 1979

Edition: First Edition

Seller ID: 2073607


First edition. Jacket spine slightly faded, jacket price clipped, ink name on front endpaper, minimal pencil marks in text.Very Good. 1979 Hard Cover. xiv, 183 pp. 8vo. A short history of medical licensure and the surveys of law governing medical practice in the U.S. The later chapters deal with legal background for disciplinary actions taken by the licensing boards. View more info

Image for Joycelyn Elders, M.D.: From Sharecropper's Daughter to Surgeon General of the United States of America

Joycelyn Elders, M.D.: From Sharecropper's Daughter to Surgeon General of the United States of America

By: Elders, Joycelyn; Chanoff, David

Price: $5.00

Publisher: William Morrow and Company, Inc.: 1996

Edition: Book Club (BCE/BOMC)

Seller ID: 2197333


Ink stamp on front endpaper, pages toned. 1996 Hard Cover. x, 355 pp. Few figures on the contemporary American political landscape have been as visible and memorable, as admired and hated, as Dr. Joycelyn Elders. In her tour as Bill Clinton's surgeon general she galvanized emotions around such hot button issues as condom distribution in schools, comprehensive sex education, and abortion rights, establishing herself as a firebrand liberal crusader and favorite conservativ... View more info

Image for Journal of an Expedition in the Libyan Sahara to Kufra, October 9 to November 14, 1960

Journal of an Expedition in the Libyan Sahara to Kufra, October 9 to November 14, 1960

By: Gajdusek, D. [Daniel] Carleton

Price: $45.00

Publisher: Study of Child Growth and Development and Disease Patterns in Primitive Cultures, National Institute of Neurological Diseases and Stroke, National Institutes of Health: 1971

Seller ID: 2072804


Former copy of Edward Miner Library with their bookplate inside front wrapper, minimal pencil marks on text. No other marks. A couple light smudges on rear wrapper. 1971 Stapled Binding. 48 pp. Stapled printed wrappers. A collection of notes, letters, and data from a five-week expedition to the Sahara desert and the Kufra oasis in Libya, during which researchers studied patterns of disease. Gajdusek shared the Nobel Prize with B.S. Blumberg in 1976 for his work on infect... View more info

Image for On Being Human: Where Ethics, Medicine and Spirituality Converge

On Being Human: Where Ethics, Medicine and Spirituality Converge

By: Ikeda, Daisaku

Price: $5.00

Publisher: Middleway Press: 2003

Seller ID: 2204926


Ink underlining and marginalia. 2003 Trade Paperback. This exploration of what it means to be healthy from a physical, mental, and spiritual standpoint discusses Western humanism, Japanese Buddhism, and modern science from three divergent, yet expert, perspectives. View more info

A Reference Handbook and Dictionary of Nursing

By: Olson's Nurses

Price: $4.00

Publisher: W.B. Saunders Company: 1969

Seller ID: 1304097


Ink name on front endpaper, front hinge weak. 1969 Hard Cover. CONTENTS: Notes on the Use of this Book; Combining Forms in Medical Terminology; Vocabulary; Table of Ateries; Table of Bones, Listed by Regions of the Body; Table of Bones; Table of Chemical Elements; Human Body -- Highlights of Structure and Function; Table of Muscles; Table of Nerves; Tables of Weights and Measures. View more info

Image for The Guide to Psychotropic Agents

The Guide to Psychotropic Agents

By: Pocket Prescribing

Price: $7.00

Publisher: Pocket Prescribing: 1997

Seller ID: 2037047


Sticker on title page. 1997 Trade Paperback. 169 pp. A thorough look at psychotropic drugs and their prescription guidelines. View more info

Image for All In a Day's Work: Scenes and Stories from an Adirondack Medical Practice

All In a Day's Work: Scenes and Stories from an Adirondack Medical Practice

By: Way, Daniel; Rugge, John

Price: $30.00

Publisher: Syracuse University Press: 2004

Edition: First Edition

Inscription: Signed by author

Seller ID: 2206743


First edition. Signed by author without inscription. A very nice copy. Fine. 2004 Hard Cover. xii, 132 pp. Over 100 color photographs vividly portray the people and places of the southeastern Adirondacks as seen by a Glens Falls family physician who has spent over twenty years practicing rural medicine in such places as Bolton Landing, Warrensburg, North Creek, Indian Lake, Long Lake, Wells, and Speculator. The book is a breathtaking collection of Adirondack landscapes t... View more info

Image for Prozac Nation: Young and Depressed in America

Prozac Nation: Young and Depressed in America

By: Wurtzel, Elizabeth

Price: $4.00

Publisher: Riverhead Books: 1995

Edition: Reprint

Seller ID: 2201277


Reprint. Edges rubbed. 1995 Trade Paperback. 368 pp. Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger on the faint pulse of an overdiagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. In this famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of Girl, Interrupted and Sylvia Plath's The Bell Jar. View more info